hit by a batted ball behind the infielder

Runner is Hit by a Batted Ball. Safe or Out? It Depends…

There’s a perception that when a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is always out. Not true. Runners are struck by batted balls in a variety ways. If this occurs when the runner is hit in front of an infielder, who is attempting to make a play, he is called out for interference…

Rich Marazzi Mailbag June 2020

Q. With the minimum three batter rule scheduled to go into effect this year, if the substitute pitcher comes in the game with one out and gets the next batter to hit into a double play, he does not have to pitch the following inning. But if the manager sends him out for the next…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.