Shin-Soo Choo

Advertisement
Expert Analysis

2023 Batter Awarded Third Base on Infield Overthrow

Topics: Expert Analysis

Do you know there are situations when a batter-runner can be awarded third base on an overthrow by an infielder into dead ball territory? Can you define the terms “FIRST PLAY” and “SECOND PLAY” in the infield? Award of Bases on Infield Throws into Dead Ball Territory Normally when an infielder throws a ball into…

Expert Analysis

Deflected Balls that Remain in Play (Part 3)

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Obstruction, Runner Interference, Runners, Uncategorized

Deflected Batted Ball Strikes the Runner  Deflections make for knotty problems since they usually lead to right of way arguments.  Whenever a batted ball is deflected off the pitcher or another infielder into the path of the runner, one of three things can happen: The ball can remain alive and in play The runner can…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.