Xander Bogaerts

Expert Analysis

Runner Fails to Retouch Base

Topics: Expert Analysis

The Yankees and Red Sox played at Fenway on September 13, 2022. In the top of the second, the Yankees had Oswaldo Cabrera on first base and one out when Miguel Andújar, facing Nick Pivetta, hit a fly ball to Alex Verdugo in right field. Cabrera, who was off with the pitch, went beyond second…

Expert Analysis

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Interference, Latest News

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.