Trea Turner of the Nationals came to the plate in the bottom of the seventh inning on May 2, 2021, when the Nats hosted the Marlins. After fouling off several pitches, Marlins pitcher, Zach Pop induced a slow comebacker which looked like an easy out to end the inning. However, after Pop fielded the ball he went into slo-motion and proceeded to flip an eephus type throw to first base. The throw was off line and pulled the first baseman off the base. Turner was safe but he probably would have beaten the throw anyway.
The play was ruled a hit by the official scorer.
You might not agree with the “hit” call by the Official Scorer but you probably don’t know about this overlooked rule:
Rule 9.12(a)(1) Comment: Slow handling of the ball that does not involve mechanical misplay shall not be construed as an error. For example, the Official Scorer shall not charge a fielder with an error if such fielder fields a ground ball cleanly but does not throw to first base in time to retire the batter.
Now what do you say? Hit or Error?