June 22, 2023

Type 2 Obstruction in 2023 MiLB Game

Does the batter-runner jogging to the next base after Type 2 Obstruction matter?

Type 2 Obstruction in 2023 MiLB Game

In a recent Triple-A minor league game the batter-runner was obstructed by the first baseman who was fielding an errant throw from third base. As the first baseman went after the ball, he made contact with the batter- runner who was attempting to go to second. The batter-runner jogged to second, then turned it on to get to third base. There was a close play, and he was called safe. The umpire immediately killed the play and awarded the runner third base after the play ended. The question was, given the batter-runner jogged to second base, had he been thrown out at third base, would the out stand or is that purely umpires discretion?

Ruleball Comments

  1. This would be a Type 2 obstruction because the batter-runner was not obstructed when there was a play being directly made on him.
  2. The actions of the batter-runner jogging to second base are irrelevant. When the action stops, the umpires simply determine if the batter-runner would have been safe or out had there been no obstruction. If the batter-runner was an easy out, the out would stand. The umpires would protect the runner and call him safe if it was a close play.
  3. In the above play, most likely the umpires would have protected the batter-runner to at least second base and if he was out on a close play at third base or the plate he would only be protected if it was a close play. By advancing beyond second base, he did so at his own risk.  
  4. Of course, always hustling hard increases the chances for a safe call on a close play, even though it appears the runner is out when Type 2 obstruction is called.

Rich Marazzi

Rules consultant/analyst:  Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.  



Disregard… Wrong video…


Why doesn’t the ‘intervening play’ allow R1 & R2 to advance?
Didn’t the play at the plate (R3 forced) allow R2 & R2 to advance one base?

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.