umpire judgement

Expert Analysis

Did Runner Intentionally Interfere to Avert a Double Play?

Topics: Uncategorized

In the top of the second inning in the Yankees-Angels game played on May 29, 2024 the Yankees had Anthony Rizzo on second and Jose Trevino on first and one out when DJ LeMahieu hit a ground ball to the left side of the infield that struck Rizzo. He was called out for runner interference…

Expert Analysis

Type 2 Obstruction in 2023 MiLB Game

Topics: Expert Analysis

In a recent Triple-A minor league game the batter-runner was obstructed by the first baseman who was fielding an errant throw from third base. As the first baseman went after the ball, he made contact with the batter- runner who was attempting to go to second. The batter-runner jogged to second, then turned it on…

Expert Analysis

Spectator Interference

Topics: Dead Ball Area, Spectator Interference, Video - Fielder
This is a video post.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.