July 11, 2021

Christian Yelich Called Out After Overrunning 1B

Did this move show the umpire he was making an attempt towards 2B?

Christian Yelich Called Out After Overrunning 1B

In this video, Milwaukee Brewers runner, Christian Yelich, overruns first base (1B) then makes a slight twitch towards second base. Before he trots back to first base, Yelich is tagged out by Reds second baseman, Jonathan India. Did Yelich’s slight dip towards second base constitute a move to advance to the next base? It is covered by OBR 5.09(b)(11).

Comments

dstub

I fail to see why this play has drawn so many comments. Watch the video. As the ball sailed past 1st base, the runner changed direction from a path in foul territory into fair territory – he changed direction, so much so that he crossed the foul line! I also don’t understand what is meant by “thinking about going.” If his thinking about advancing can be seen in the video, then there must have been some movement that conveyed that. Whatever that movement was, it was enough that he forfeited his privilege. It is also clear he tried to do his best “Just kidding” body language but the out call is not only correct but mandatory. No “stretch” to it, it’s a no-brainer.

Jim Caudle

For the move to constitute an “attempt”, the
runner would have to make an actual step towards second base indicating his intent to go. In this instance, there was a “stutter” movement of the inside leg but never a step made towards second. No step, no attempt. The runner should not have been called out.

accident55

He absolutely made an attempt. Doesn’t have to be a big attempt. But that is not a normal sidestep move a batter makes when he crosses first. That is a move a batter makes when he sees the ball got away and starts to move toward second before realizing it didn’t get THAT far away. If he was just “thinking about’ going but didn’t actually go, then his legs wouldn’t have made that awkwar sidestep.

paull

I am new to this site. Where do I send a rules question to?

Moon Montana

Umpire call could also have influenced by 1st base coach telling and signaling the runner to take second. That’s to me what appears to have happened. Yellech made the move to 2nd and then pretended it didn’t happen

Grgldrbck

You can see him looking as the ball got by Votto and started to head to Second when he saw the ball bouncing back. Yes it was only a half step which then makes it a Judgement Call by the Umpires. There’s been lots of bad strikes at the plate that appeared to be pinching Reds pitchers to get a fat one for the Brewers to hit. It’s hard to feel bad about this close decision with this Crew of Umpires when it seemed the Reds were facing them and the Brew Crew at the same time.

ataha

My understanding is that taking a single step toward 2nd base with an intent to advance is an “attempt.” Although it’s close, I think he steps toward second with this left foot, so he’s out.

Also, in the video afterwards that discusses this type of play, they say the runner would be out on appeal if he attempts to go to 2nd base. However, I don’t think it’s an appeal play. The runner has to be tagged before he gets back to 1st base.

Val Cuarto

No attempt at second base he’s safe.
Come on now.

accident55

He did attempt though. That leg movement he made is not a normal “overrunning first base” move. That is a “Oooh, the ball got away, I can get second” quickly followed by “Oh damn…it didn’t get away far.” But by the time the second thought entered his mind, his legs had already clearly followed through on the first thought.

golfergreg

He started to move to second, saw the ball was retrieved cleanly and stopped, out all day

Stan Dyer

That’s kind of a stretch, but it is a judgment call.

chuck9997

As a REDS fan, ..I’m glad he was called out.. but he shouldn’t have been. He “thought about going”.. but he didn’t make any “attempt”.

Donny Brusca

Unless you’re a mind reader, how can you tell he “thought about going” other than by seeing him actually start to go?

accident55

If all he did was “think about going” then his legs wouldn’t have made that stutter step toward second.

Leave a Reply

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.