Forum Replies Created
- The direct answer to your specific question is that the pitcher is ejected for unsportsman’s like conduct which supersedes everything else.
I just wanted to add these two scenarios I’ve seen and now I handled each.
1. The batter is not granted time, steps out of the box and is unintentionally hit by the pitch:
Dead ball ball unless it’s ball 4 in which case he takes his base & no runners may advance unless forced.
2. The batter steps out without time causing the pitcher to balk either intentionally or unintentionally:
Dead ball, nullify the balk caused by the batter and simply do over. No runners may advance.
I don’t think the pitcher would throw at the batter intentionally in the situation.From a rule standpoint there would be nothing to fix since it would be impossible to invoke the rule in the first place. The ball is live and treated just like any other fly ball and whatever happens on the play stands.