Runner’s Lane Interference in Mets vs Astros
The Mets and Astros played at Minute Maid on June 21st. In the top of the first inning the Mets had the bases loaded and no outs when Pete Alonso tapped back to pitcher Cristian Javier. Javier threw home to catcher Martín Maldonado for the force at home and Maldonado fired wildly past first baseman Mauricio Dubon. But plate ump Brian O’Nora called batter-runner interference on Alonso who was running out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide, Runner’s Lane, and impeded the Astros from completing the play.
- This was a clear example of Runner’s Lane interference.
- Alonso was running out of the lane and interfered with Dubon, who was taking the throw.
- When interference occurs, runners cannot advance unless there is an intervening play. In this play, there was an intervening play at the plate. If Brandon Nimmo, the runner on third, who was advancing home was safe, the run would count, even though Alonso was called for interference. This can sometimes happen on a safety or suicide squeeze.
- Again, if Dubon had taken the throw from the stretch in fair territory, most likely there would have been no interference. The ball would get there sooner, and it would be safer for the first baseman.
- The Astros won the game 10-8.
Rules consultant/analyst: Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.