45-foot runner’s box

The NFHS Runner’s Lane Rule: Umpire’s Guide

This Special Report was written by Rick Roder, author of The Rules of Professional Baseball: A Comprehensive Reorganization and Clarification. Email Rick, rick@nullrulesofbaseball.com Baseball’s running lane rule got its day in the sun in Game 6 of the 2019 World Series. Plate umpire Sam Holbrook ruled that Washington Senators’ batter-runner Trea Turner violated the rule…

Did Pitcher Throw at Runner for Interference Call?

The Reds and Indians played in Cleveland on May 23, 2017, when the Reds’ Zack Cozart was called for batter-runner interference. Cozart was clearly out of the runner’s box but did Indians’ pitcher Carlos Carrasco have a good throwing lane to first base? And even if he did, does it matter since Cozart was clearly…

Jason Heyward Called for Batter Runner Interference

Before we look at a couple of recent batter-runner interference plays, let’s review the provisions and “interpretations” that cover rule 5.09 (a) (11) and the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box that has been around since 1881. Keep in mind that the rule is designed to protect the fielder “taking” the throw, not “making” the…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.