Brian Knight

Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference Becoming Common Occurrence in MLB

Topics: Expert Analysis

In the second game of a day-night doubleheader between the Yanks and Red Sox at Fenway on September 12, 2023, Austin Wells was batting in the top of the ninth with the bases loaded and one out facing Nick Robertson when catcher Connor Wong was called for catcher’s interference by plate umpire Brian Knight. Everson…

Expert Analysis

Pro Rules: Does a Runner Have to Slide to Avoid an Interference Call?

Topics: double play, Interference, Runner Interference, Uncategorized

The July 24, 2021, the Padres-Marlins game ended with the automatic double play when a Replay Review overturned a call on the field involving an illegal running violation. In the top of the ninth the Padres trailing 3-2, had Trent Grisham on first and one out when Wil Myers, facing Yimi Garcia, hit a ground…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.