Carlos Carrasco

Expert Analysis

Did Pitcher Throw at Runner for Interference Call?

Topics: Baseline, Latest News, Runner Interference, Runners

The Reds and Indians played in Cleveland on May 23, 2017, when the Reds’ Zack Cozart was called for batter-runner interference. Cozart was clearly out of the runner’s box but did Indians’ pitcher Carlos Carrasco have a good throwing lane to first base? And even if he did, does it matter since Cozart was clearly…

Expert Analysis

Jason Heyward Called for Batter Runner Interference

Topics: Baseline, Batted Ball, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Runner Interference, Runners

Before we look at a couple of recent batter-runner interference plays, let’s review the provisions and “interpretations” that cover rule 5.09 (a) (11) and the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box that has been around since 1881. Keep in mind that the rule is designed to protect the fielder “taking” the throw, not “making” the…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.