Over Throws from the Outfield and Base Awards
Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area
When an outfielder makes a throw that goes into dead ball territory (DBT) such as the dugout or the stands, all runners are awarded two bases from the last base they touched at the moment the ball is released by the outfielder. Infield overthrows into DBT have a separate rule which I will cover in…
Bruce Bochy Knows the Rules!
Topics: Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Latest News, Placing Runners, Placing Runners
Regarding throws from the infield that go out of play, umpires must determine if it the “first play” or “second play.” By rule, when an infielder initially fields the ball, that is NOT A PLAY. The infielder’s “first play” is either: (1) a throw to a base (most common), (2) an attempted tag of a…