Rougned Odor Tag Archive

Blog

Deflected Balls that Remain in Play (Part 3)

Deflected Batted Ball Strikes the Runner  Deflections make for knotty problems since they usually lead to right of way arguments.  Whenever a batted ball is deflected off the pitcher or another infielder into the path of the runner, one of three things can happen: The ball can remain alive and in play The runner can […]

Insider Report

Time Play Opening Day 2017

The 2017 baseball season wasn’t quite two days old when we had our first “Time Play” confusion. When the third out of an inning is not the result of a force play and it happens about the same time a runner is crossing the plate, the plate umpire must decide “in time,” what occurred first-the […]

Insider Report

The First 45 Feet from Home to First are Valuable Real Estate

If the batter-runner runs out of the box the last 45 feet between home and first base, he runs the risk of being called out for interference if he interferes with the first baseman (or second baseman) who is “taking” the throw, usually from the pitcher or catcher. However, when the first baseman is “making” […]

Insider Report

Q&A: Is this a catch?

Q. In a recent game, our third baseman was going back for a pop fly in foul territory, he misread the ball and got turned around a few times which caused him to become off balance. While he was falling to the ground he reached to catch the ball. As he hit the ground on […]

Insider Report

Catcher’s Throwback to Pitcher Hits Batter

The 53-minute seventh inning of Game 5 of the American League Division Series between Toronto and Texas may prove to be the most bizarre in post-season history. It involved a quirky rule, good Ruleball running, three errors on consecutive plays, and an epic three run homer. It all began in the top of the inning […]

Insider Report

Baseline Issue: Running from Second to Third

Excluding rundowns, when a runner is attempting to advance from one base to another, he has no restricted baseline until a tag attempt is made. If a runner anticipates an imminent tag attempt, he can legally divert his basepath. He does not need to stay in a direct line to the base. Once the tag attempt is made, the runner has a direct line to the base he is going to and has three feet in either direction of that line. With that in mind, let’s look at the following play that occurred in the May 15, 2016 game between the Mets and Rockies in Colorado.

Insider Report

Obstruction

Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. Contact does not have to be made for the umpire to rule obstruction. Also, intent is not a factor. It is the responsibility of the runner to avoid the fielder when the fielder is making a play on the ball. However, after a fielder has had a chance to field the ball or if the fielder is not in possession of the ball and is not about to receive a throw, it is the responsibility of the fielder to relinquish space to the runner because the runner has the right of way to a clear basepath.