April 22, 2023

Runner Can’t Return to Touch a Missed Base After a Following Runner has Scored

Rougned Odor is called out after an appeal at home plate

Runner Can’t Return to Touch a Missed Base After a Following Runner has Scored

The Padres and Braves met on April 8, 2023. In the top of the fourth inning, San Diego had Ha-Seong Kim on second base and Rougned Odor on third and one out when Trent Grisham hit a ground ball to Matt Olson at first base. Olson’s throw to the plate skipped past catcher Travis d’Arnaud. In the process, Odor collided with d’Arnaud and never touched the plate. As a result of the collision, d’Arnaud suffered a concussion.

Plate umpire Chad Fairchild properly made no call because there was no touch of the plate by Odor and no tag of the runner by d’Arnaud. Odor attempted to return and touch the plate, but Kim, who started the play on second base, raced home and touched the plate before Odor did.

When play resumed, the Braves appealed that Odor missed the plate. He was called out, but Kim was allowed to score because there were less than two outs.

Rule 5.09 (d)  reads, “Unless two are out, the status of the following runner (Kim), is not affected by a preceding runner’s (Odor) failure to touch or retouch a base. If, upon appeal, the preceding runner (Odor) is the third out, no runners following him should score. If such third out is the result of a force play, neither preceding (Odor) or following runners (Kim) shall score.”

Ruleball Comments

  1. I have been tracking plays for over 50 years and have never seen this rule come alive.
  2. The Braves made a wise appeal.
  3. Fairchild made no signal because the runner (Odor) never touched the plate and the catcher (d’Arnaud) never tagged the runner.
  4. One of the broadcasters unaware of the rule said, “Two runners are going to score.” You can’t fault him for not knowing a rule that shows-up as often as Halley’s Comet.
  5. Originally two runs were put on the board for the Padres, but it was later corrected. Only Kim’s run scored.

Rich Marazzi

Rules consultant/analyst:  Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.  



Regarding this video,”Runner Can’t Return to Touch a Missed Base After a Following Runner has Scored”, when ODOR went back to touch the plate, had he touched before Kim, then both runs would have counted?

Have a question or comment for one of our experts?

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.