Seattle Mariners

Advertisement
Expert Analysis

If a Pitcher Crosses the Foul Line, He Must Pitch to the First Batter

Topics: Expert Analysis, Pitcher, Rules Changes, Rules Controversy

Rule 5.10 (i) reads, “If a pitcher who is already in the game crosses the foul line on his way to take his place on the pitcher’s plate to start an inning, he shall pitch to the first batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the batter is substituted for,…

Expert Analysis

Runner hit by batted ball…..is the runner always out?

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Runners

When a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is not always out. Umpires must assess the situation and apply the proper rule. The most common form of this violation is when a runner is struck by a batted ball in front an infielder and impedes him from making a play.  The runner is…

Expert Analysis

T-Mobile Park- Seattle Mariners

Topics: Ground Rules

https://www.mlb.com/groundrules/venue-680

Expert Analysis

Red Sox Confused about Running Lane Rule

Topics: Baseline, Batter Runner, Interference, Runner Interference

The Mariners and Red Sox played at Safeco on March 29 when this odd double play occurred. The Red Sox had the bases loaded in the top of the eighth inning and one out when Eduardo Nunez hit a slow roller up the first base line that was fielded by pitcher Cory Gearrin, who proceeded…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.