Two Runners Tagged on Same Base-Double Play
In my last report I covered the topic of Two Runners on the Same Base. As stated, when possible, a team should never have two runners on the same base because if both are tagged and the wrong runner exits the base, the defensive team can execute an easy double play. That’s what happened in Sunday’s game on May 28, 2023 at Wrigley Field where the Cubs hosted the Reds.
In the top of the ninth inning the Reds had Nick Senzel on third and Kevin Newman on second with one out when Will Benson hit a ground ball to Nico Hoerner. Senzel headed home and Newman sprinted to third. The Cubs’ second baseman fired home to catcher Yon Gomes. Senzel was now in a pickle. Gomes ran Senzel back to third where Newman was standing on the base. With both runners standing on third base, Gomes tagged Newman and Senzel in that order. Third base umpire Manny Gonzalez called Newman out and Senzel safe. But Senzel, thinking he was out, exited the base and was tagged by Gomes. Gonzalez then called Senzel out as well.
- Senzel had the right to third base because he wasn’t forced from that base at the start of play.
- Where was the third base coach in this scenario? I think he could have been more active in his communication with the runners.
- If Senzel could not make an attempt to return toward the plate when being chased and get into a rundown, he should have given himself up before reaching third base. If he did that, the worst thing that could happen would be one out on the play.
Rules consultant/analyst: Angels, D’backs, Dodgers, Nationals, Orioles, Padres, Phillies, Pirates, Red Sox, Rangers, Royals, Tigers, Twins, White Sox, Yankees, Bally Sports, YES, and NBC Sports Chicago.