December 12, 2019

Runner Physically Assists Runner

What happens when one runner passes another on the base paths? May one runner on base push another runner to keep him from passing? This action is not specifically addressed in the Official Baseball Rules so it is tacitly approved. May a coach physically assist a runner in the same fashion? This video answers all these questions.

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.