clayton Kershaw

Expert Analysis

When a Runner Attempts to Steal Home

Topics: Balk, Batter's Box, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Famous Plays, Interference, Pitcher, Runners
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Umpire Got the Count Wrong, Now What?

Topics: Ball/Strike Count, Expert Analysis, Incorrect Ball/Strike Count, protest, Replay Review, Umpire, Umpire Manual Rules

The D’backs hosted the Dodgers on Sept. 10. In the top of the sixth inning, the Dodgers had Kike Hernandez on third and Austin Barnes on first with one out. Mookie Betts was at-bat with a 1-2 count. On the next pitch which was called a “Ball” by plate umpire Doug Eddings, the. Dodgers attempted…

Expert Analysis

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

Topics: Balk, Base Awards, Batter's Box, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Equipment, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.