D’backs

MLB Umpires Misinterpret Mound Visit Rule

Under rule 5.10 (L), (3) (4), a manager is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same hitter is at bat but if a pinch-hitter is substituted for the batter, the manager or coach may then make a second visit to the mound but must then remove the pitcher. The D’backs…

Batter Cannot Cause Balk – MLB Umpire Misses the Call

Batter’s Actions Cause Pitcher to Balk On July 11, 2017, the Rockies hosted the D’backs. In the bottom of second, the Rockies had Ian Desmond on first and Gerardo Parra on third with two outs and Tony Wolters at bat facing Jorge De La Rosa. Wolters asked for a “late” time out which was not…

Red Sox Catcher Nabbed for Detached Equipment Rule Violation

You cannot assume your players know even the most basic rules. Take what happened at Fenway Park on May 1, 2018,  when the Red Sox hosted the Royals. In the top of the 10th inning with the score tied 3-3, the Royals had runners on first and second and two outs when Sox catcher Christian…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.