When Can a Batter Leave the Box?
Be Careful Where You Drop the Bat
Not So Simple: Catcher’s Interference
Rule of the Week: Batter Abandonment – When A Batter Is Called Out For Desertion
Your favorite player swings and misses. “Strike three,” signals the umpire. While the disgusted batter drops his head and walks dejectedly back towards his dugout, a fan yells, “Run! He dropped the ball!” The batter now takes off in a half sprint to first base. Too late, the home plate umpire has already signaled out….
Rule of the Week – Catcher Interference Won’t Always Stop the Show
How should an umpire respond to catcher interference? Watch the video! This week we’re discussing catcher interference. Catcher interference is when a batter swings and touches the catcher’s glove. The umpire points and calls out, “that’s catcher interference” – but the ball remains alive and the play develops! If the batter gets a base…
Rule of the Week: The Best Quick Pitch Advice for Coaches and Players
What does a quick pitch look like? Watch the video! This week’s official baseball rule is all about the quick pitch. If the pitcher throws the ball on purpose to surprise the batter, it is a quick pitch. In the set position, according to Rule 5.07(a)(2), the pitcher must pause after the stretch, holding the…