Highandin

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Replies
  • Highandin
    Participant
    1015
    Zachary, thanks for the catch… I meant “ball, vice HBP”. NOT really sure what I was thinking when I typed that… or ‘not thinking’?

     

    Highandin
    Participant
    1015
    First, apologies Greg! I screwed up on my scroll up!

    I’ve called Babe Ruth games, using OBR, and have rung up strikes on guys who stepped out…and there it has to be a strike… and people were NOT happy. I’ve also rung up a strike for not avoiding and allowing the ball to hit you. I can only guess at the howling that would go on if 1. guy steps out with two feet and you award 2 strikes or, and this was the one I was really interested in, 2. guy steps out with one or two feet and gets drilled and you award a strike(s) for a pitch that is outside the batter’s box!

    Highandin
    Participant
    1015
    I’m interested in the unintentionally HBP situation. The books says:
    <p id=”721″><strong class=”art”>7-2-1   A strike is charged to the batter when:</p>
    5. a batter delays (6-2-4d-1

    If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request “Time,” it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “Time” and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live.

    There is no provision in here, or anywhere I can find, on what happens if the batter is HBP in this situation.

    Greg posted:

    “1. The batter is not granted time, steps out of the box and is unintentionally hit by the pitch:

    Dead ball ball unless it’s ball 4 in which case he takes his base & no runners may advance unless forced.”

    I’m good with the dead ball part, cause the guy got drilled, however I’m not OK with the “unless it’s ball 4” since location doesn’t matter in NFHS unlike OBR. It’s a penalty.

    That said, does the awarding of the penalty for stepping out override the awarding of a base for getting hit?

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.