Jonathan Lucroy

Marisnick Lucroy Brutal Collision Legal or Not?

Marisnick/Lucroy Collision at the Plate Perhaps the most egregious runner/catcher collision of the 2019 season occurred in the Angels-Astros game on July 7, in Houston, when the Astros’ Jake Marisnick ran over Angels’ catcher Jonathan Lucroy. With the game tied at 10-10 and one out in the bottom of the eighth, Angels’ reliever Hansel Robles…

Fan Catches Foul Ball, Fielder Steals Glove and is Awarded Catch!

On June 7, 2019, the Angels and Mariners played in Anaheim. M’s right fielder Domingo Santana made a catch in which he ended-up with two gloves. Here is what happened. Jonathan Lucroy led off the bottom of the fifth facing Marco Gonzales and hit a fly ball down the right field line that was caught…

Lineup Snafu, Mets Bat Out of Order

Confusion reigned in the first inning yesterday, May 9, 2018,  at Great American Ball Park, where the Mets batted out of order in their game against the Reds. Before we look at what happened, a fundamental point of the rule is, when a batter bats out of order and it’s appealed, the batter who failed to bat…

Batter’s Interference: Coaching Tips For Smart Coaches

When a batter hinders a catcher making a play, it is basic batter interference. It usually happens that a batter swings at a pitch, misses and then falls into the space of the catcher who is attempting to throw out a runner. The batter is out and the runner(s) are returned to their previous base….

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.