Ron Kulpa Tag Archive

Blog

Fan Catches Foul Ball, Fielder Steals Glove and is Awarded Catch!

On June 7, 2019, the Angels and Mariners played in Anaheim. M’s right fielder Domingo Santana made a catch in which he ended-up with two gloves. Here is what happened. Jonathan Lucroy led off the bottom of the fifth facing Marco Gonzales and hit a fly ball down the right field line that was caught […]

Blog

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake […]

Insider Report

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24, 2017, misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss.   There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For […]

Insider Report

Batter Interferes with Catcher on Backswing

The Red Sox and Rays played at Tropicana Field on August 23, 2016. David Ortiz was batting in the top of the eighth inning with one out and Xander Bogaerts on first base. With Bogaerts attempting to steal second, Ortiz swung and missed a 2-2 Brad Boxberger pitch. Ortiz’ bat came around and struck catcher […]