Ron Kulpa

Expert Analysis

Fan Catches Foul Ball, Fielder Steals Glove and is Awarded Catch!

Topics: Batted Ball, Dead Ball Area, Foul Territory, Spectator Interference

On June 7, 2019, the Angels and Mariners played in Anaheim. M’s right fielder Domingo Santana made a catch in which he ended-up with two gloves. Here is what happened. Jonathan Lucroy led off the bottom of the fifth facing Marco Gonzales and hit a fly ball down the right field line that was caught…

Expert Analysis

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

Topics: Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Interference, Latest News

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24 misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss. There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For the sake…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.