Brady Hood

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Replies
  • Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    I suppose IF a player touched a batted ball with detached equipment and the ball deflected in to dead ball territory, then that would be a 3 base award…but I that is probably getting into semantics at that point.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    For high school it’s his natural stance, not the swing. Not sure NCAA. For the little guys, if they can hit it, it’s a strike.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    For me, if I am behind the plate, It would need to be obvious for me to call that. If it is a 50/50 ball though on the edge of the zone, Im calling it a strike 100% of the time, not on the checked swing but on the pitch. They need to be swinging. Base umpires have the better angle on checked swings. When i am working bases, A is the best to be picky. I look at the angle of the bat, if it comes past perpendicular to the line, he went. B and C it’s tough cause the angle, so unless even his mother knew he went, im not calling it.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    You can always move guys back, but you cant give them bases. Better to be late and get it right then be early and get it wrong.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    The umpires should immediately call the trail runner out when that runner is tagged.  Shouldn’t be any amount of sorting out needed, unless the coaches want to complain about it.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    If the batter struck out on the pitch and then interfered with the throw, the runner would be out. Or if it is a play at the plate, runner would be out. Any other base though…That umpire was incorrect on the call
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    Yup, and this can only occur if there are runners on base. If it happens with no one on, it is just ignored.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    Any runner can advance at his own peril. Doesn’t matter if the ball is caught or not.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    The pop up slide is legal, but if the runner interferes (not necessarily physical contact) with the fielders ability to make the play, that is interference. Intent in high school does not matter like it does in MLB.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    Umpire calls out interference and continues to officiate play. It’s a delayed dead ball, so the awards, if any take place after all playing action. It is up to the offensive coach to pick the result of the play or stick with his guys returning to base and batter-runner awarded first.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    There are teams and coaches who don’t understand the old rule, let alone adding this confusion. I guess it’ll help keep the best bats in the game, but I don’t know. As soon as the player is substituted for offensively it will kill the P/DH, so at the beginning of the season I think there will be alot of confusion when they do that. Time will tell.
    Brady Hood
    Participant
    1000
    In NFHS the batter-runner is allowed to over-run or over-slide first as long as they don’t attempt to advance to second. This includes a base on balls. They changed this rule at the start of the 2018 season. Personally I think it gives extra help to the umpire from teams being silly.
Viewing 12 replies - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.