Cleveland Indians Tag Archive

Insider Report

The Second Play in the Infield: A Rare Base Award

In Wednesday night’s game between the Indians and Rangers, the Rangers were awarded a run on a rare “second play” in the infield overthrow into the stands. Do you know the difference between the “first play” and “second play” in the infield when it comes to making a base award? Let’s start with a very […]

Insider Report

Time Play Opening Day 2017

The 2017 baseball season wasn’t quite two days old when we had our first “Time Play” confusion. When the third out of an inning is not the result of a force play and it happens about the same time a runner is crossing the plate, the plate umpire must decide “in time,” what occurred first-the […]

Insider Report

Dealing with the DH: Two Case Studies on Waiting

What should a manager do when he notices that the opposing lineup card does not have a DH listed? If the umpire observes the error during the lineup card exchange, he can correct the problem. If not, the manager of the team who submitted a proper lineup card needs to have patience and remain mute […]

Insider Report

Catcher Interference

In the top of the first inning, the Royals’ Whit Merrifield attempted to steal second base with Lorenzo Cain at bat. At almost the time of pitcher Josh Tomlin’s release, Indians’ catcher Chris Gimenez jumped up, took off his mask, and stepped on the plate to receive the throw. Gimenez caught the pitch standing on the plate and threw to second, but Whit was safe. Plate umpire Sam Holbrook made no interference call on Gimenez and Cain remained at bat.

The Royals’ staff was concerned about a catcher’s balk and the possibility of catcher’s interference. This is my take.

Insider Report

“Fourth Out”

Let’s look at the following play that could have resulted in a “fourth out” appeal when the Tigers and Indians played at Comerica Park on June 24, 2016.

Insider Report

Runner Interference: Umpire Must Make Decision which Fielder to Protect

The Yankees beat the Indians 7-6 in Cleveland on July 9, 2016. But had it not been for an interference call against Indians’ baserunner Francisco Lindor, the Tribe would have been probable winners.

Insider Report

Obstruction Rule Revisited

The two different obstruction rules (Type A and Type B) came to life this past week. First a brief review of the obstruction rule: Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. Contact […]