DBT

Over Throws from the Outfield and Base Awards

When an outfielder makes a throw that goes into dead ball territory (DBT) such as the dugout or the stands, all runners are awarded two bases from the last base they touched at the moment the ball is released by the outfielder. Infield overthrows into DBT have a separate rule which I will cover in…

Bruce Bochy Knows the Rules!

Regarding throws from the infield that go out of play, umpires must determine if it the “first play” or “second play.”  By rule, when an infielder initially fields the ball, that is NOT A PLAY. The infielder’s “first play” is either: (1) a throw to a base (most common), (2) an attempted tag of a…

9 Rules Questions Answered Here

1. Infield Fly Rule situation. The bases are loaded and one out when the batter hits a pop fly near first base in fair territory. The umpires invoke the IFR. The runner on first base, who is several feet off the bag, is tracking the fly ball instead of locating the first baseman who is…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.