follow through interference Tag Archive

Insider Report

Did the Umpire Misinterpret Backswing Batter Interference?

In my opinion the umpire in the Blue Jays-Angels game on April 24, 2017, misinterpreted a backswing interference call that might have affected the outcome of the game in the Blue Jays 2-1 loss.   There is a distinction between two types of batter interference covered in rule 6.03 (a) (3) and (4) Comment: For […]

Blog

Rule of the Week: Follow Through Interference

Pro rules have nary a reference to follow through interference. Instead, it is referred to as “back swing” interference. The golfing world knows the difference. Follow through vs. back swing The follow through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The […]