base award Tag Archive

Insider Report

Batted Ball Deflects off Pitcher and Umpire on Same Play

The Dayton Dragons (Reds) played the South Bend Cubs in a Class A Midwest League game this past August.  With a runner on first base, the batter hit a shot that deflected off the pitcher before striking the second base umpire. The ball then rolled to the shortstop near second base. The shortstop fielded the […]

Insider Report

WHEN A CATCHER DEFLECTS A PITCHED BALL

Catcher Deflections When a pitched ball caroms off the catcher and rolls into dead ball territory, the award for the runner/runners is one base from their position at the time the pitch was delivered unless the catcher kicks, pushes or deflects the ball into dead ball territory in which case the award becomes two bases […]

Insider Report

The Second Play in the Infield: A Rare Base Award

In Wednesday night’s game between the Indians and Rangers, the Rangers were awarded a run on a rare “second play” in the infield overthrow into the stands. Do you know the difference between the “first play” and “second play” in the infield when it comes to making a base award? Let’s start with a very […]

Academy Courses

Scoring the Winning Run With a Base Award

If the bases are loaded with two outs and the batter is awarded first base (walk, hit by pitch), the batter-runner must touch first base and the runner from third base must touch home. The other runners on base are not required to advance and touch the next base. Insider Report Game-Ending Problems One of […]

Official Rules of Little League-Level Baseball

7.06 Obstruction

When the obstruction occurs, the umpire shall call or signal “Obstruction.” (a) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before touching first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in […]

Insider Report

Fan on Field

The Mariners hosted the St. Louis Cardinals on June 25. In the top of the fifth inning, the Cardinals had runners on first and second and no outs when Mariners’ left fielder Seth Smith made a catch on a fly ball off the bat of Matt Carpenter just as a fan split between him and center fielder Leonys Martin. It was a bizarre sight. Since Smith made the catch, spectator interference was not called.

Insider Report

Obstruction

Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. Contact does not have to be made for the umpire to rule obstruction. Also, intent is not a factor. It is the responsibility of the runner to avoid the fielder when the fielder is making a play on the ball. However, after a fielder has had a chance to field the ball or if the fielder is not in possession of the ball and is not about to receive a throw, it is the responsibility of the fielder to relinquish space to the runner because the runner has the right of way to a clear basepath.

Insider Report

Batted Ball Hits Runner While Standing on a Base

The Yankees and Nationals met at Nationals Park on May 19. In the top of the fourth inning the Yanks had Brian McCann on third and Chase Headley on second with two outs when Jose Pirela hit a soft roller between home and third. Nats’ third baseman Yunel Escobar made no play on the ball […]