dead ball area Tag Archive

Blog

3B Nice Catch Near Dugout Costs his Team a Run

Beware on Pop-ups Caught Near or in Dugout The Royals hosted the A’s in an afternoon game on August 30, 2019. In the top of the eight inning, with Royals runners on second and third and the Royals holding a one-run lead, A’s Corban Joseph lofted a high pop-up near the third base dugout. Royal’s […]

Blog

Outfielder’s Throw is Deflected into Dead Ball Territory

Whenever a thrown, pitched, or batted ball is deflected into dead ball territory, umpires must be able to make the proper base award and coaches should be able to determine if the base award was proper. This can impact the outcome of a game. Thrown Ball Deflected into Dead Ball Territory Take what occurred when […]

Blog

Dexter Fowler Catches Dead Ball for Last Out of Game “How does that happen?”

The Phillies were batting with two out in the 9th inning of their game with the St. Louis Cardinals, May 29, 2019, when Andrew McCutchen lofted a fly ball down the right field line. The ball drifted away from the field of play and into the stands when a fan reached up and touched the […]

Blog

Base Award Chart – Balls Deflected Out of Play

Blog

Deflected Balls Go Into Dead Ball Territory

Deflected Balls That Go into Dead Ball Territory: Part I This is the first of a three-part series involving rules that relate to pitched, thrown and batted balls that are deflected into dead ball territory or remain in play.  In this edition, I’ll cover deflections that go into dead ball territory on throws from the […]

Blog

Bruce Bochy Knows the Rules!

Regarding throws from the infield that go out of play, umpires must determine if it the “first play” or “second play.”  By rule, when an infielder initially fields the ball, that is NOT A PLAY. The infielder’s “first play” is either: (1) a throw to a base (most common), (2) an attempted tag of a […]

Insider Report

When a Fielder Makes a Throw into a Dead Ball Area

Your typical base awards for runners on infielder overthrows that go into dead ball territory are two bases from their position at the time of the pitch. But don’t fall asleep. There are other base awards that emerge on infielder overthrows into DBT that depend on “first” and “second” plays in the infield. A rare […]

Insider Report

Spectator Interference

When spectator interference occurs, the umpires have the authority to place the batter and the runners at any base they judge would have been made had there been no interference. It’s possible that the umpires will award two bases to one runner while awarding only one base to another runner or the batter. The umpires […]