pick-off Tag Archive

Blog

What Do You Know? 9 Rules Questions from 2018

1. There’s a runner on first, catcher’s interference is called and the batter safely makes it to first as a result of the play. If the runner on first (after safely reaching second base), makes an attempt for third base during the play and gets thrown out, does the offensive coach have the option to […]

Blog

Orioles Pitcher Throws to Uncovered Base – Balk

Gausman Called For Balk By rule, the pitcher is charged with a balk while in contact with the rubber when he throws to the first baseman or third baseman who is either in front of or behind the base and obviously not making an attempt to retire the runner at that base.  Several years ago […]

Insider Report

Balk Ruled When Pitcher Throws to 3B and Fielder is Too Far from the Base

By rule, the pitcher is charged with a balk while in contact with the rubber when he throws to the first baseman or third baseman who is either in front of or behind the base and obviously not making an attempt to retire the runner at that base.  Several years ago the rule was only […]

Insider Report

Ball Slips From Pitcher’s Hand – Balk

According to rule 6.02 (b) Comment, “A ball which slips out of the pitcher’s hand and crosses the foul line shall be called a ball; otherwise it will be called no pitch. This would be a balk with men on base.” The question is – what is considered a slip as opposed to a pitch […]

Insider Report

Can a Fielder Block a Base?

In the July 24 Blue Jays-Mariners game in Seattle, Jays catcher Dioner Navarro picked off Brad Miller at third base. There was some question whether or not Jays third baseman Josh Donaldson obstructed the runner’s path to the base. If you view the play, you will notice that Donaldson blocked the base with his knee […]

Insider Report

Pick-off Attempt at Second Base

The Yankees hosted the A’s on July 9. In the bottom of the third inning, the Yanks had Jacoby Ellsbury on second and Brett Gardner on first with no outs and Mark Teixeira at the plate. A’s pitcher Jesse Chavez, while in contact with the rubber, wheeled toward second and threw to shortstop Marcus Semien, […]

Insider Report

Pitcher Throws to First Baseman who is not Covering the Base

Throwing to the first baseman when the first baseman is not in the vicinity of the base creates a balk when there is no obvious intent on the part of the first baseman to retire the runner. For example, let’s say the first baseman is positioned several feet behind or in front of the base […]

Insider Report

Obstruction Rule Revisited

The two different obstruction rules (Type A and Type B) came to life this past week. First a brief review of the obstruction rule: Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. Contact […]

Insider Report

Pitcher Throws to Uncovered Base

Cubs manager Joe Maddon was ejected in the bottom of the fourth inning by first base umpire Adam Hamari in the afternoon game of a day/night double header in Cincinnati. The commotion was the result of a balk call made by Hamari on Cubs pitcher Kyle Hendricks that sent Reds’ runner Tucker Barnhart to second […]

Insider Report

Pitcher Throws to 2B but No Fielder is Covering

The Yankees hosted the A’s on July 9. In the bottom of the third inning, the Yanks had Jacoby Ellsbury on second and Brett Gardner on first with no outs and Mark Teixeira at the plate. A’s pitcher Jesse Chavez, while in contact with the rubber, wheeled toward second and threw to shortstop Marcus Semien, […]