Yadier Molina

Expert Analysis

Runner Creates a Time Play by Eliminating the Inning-Ending Force Out

Topics: Time Play

The Cards hosted the Pirates on June 14th when what might be the Ruleball play of the season  occurred in the first game of a double header.  In the bottom of the fourth inning, the Redbirds had the bases loaded and two outs. Yadier Molina was on third, Edmundo Sosa on second, and Nolan Gorman…

Expert Analysis

Runner hit by batted ball…..is the runner always out?

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Runners

When a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is not always out. Umpires must assess the situation and apply the proper rule. The most common form of this violation is when a runner is struck by a batted ball in front an infielder and impedes him from making a play.  The runner is…

Expert Analysis

Did Yadier Molina Interfere by Waving his Hand?

Topics: Batter Runner, Runner Interference, Runners Lane, Uncategorized
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

“That’s a Force!” Is Yadier Molina the Smartest Player on the Field?

Topics: Base, Catcher, double play, Fielding, force out, tag attempt, Umpire Manual Rules
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

Strange Play Special Report: Ball Sticks to Catcher’s Protector

Topics: Video - Fielder

Baseball Fans Bewildered The Chicago Cubs started a 7th inning, three-run rally vs the Cardinals in a most unusual way on April 6, 2017. The Cubs Matt Szczur swung and missed on a pitch in the dirt for strike three. Aware that Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina did not cleanly catch the ball, Szczur headed to…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.