Latest News

Expert Analysis

Chris Carter Runs Out of Baseline

Topics: Baseline, Latest News, Runners

The Yankees-Royals game on Tuesday night ended with a running out of the baseline/DP. With one out and Chris Carter on first base, Jacoby Ellsbury hit a ground ball to second baseman Whit Merrifield, who made progress toward Carter after fielding the ball. The moment Merrifield ran in the direction of Carter, his baseline was…

Expert Analysis

Blue Jays Called for Obstruction, Manager Tossed

Topics: Appeal, Baseline, Latest News, Obstruction, Runners

Blue Jays manager John Gibbons was ejected during the top of the eighth inning by umpire Vic Carapazza after Carapazza ruled a Type A obstruction on second baseman Devon Travis during a rundown with Franciso Lindor in the eighth inning of the Indians-Blue Jays game on May 8 in Toronto. Cleveland had runners on second…

Expert Analysis

How a Minor League Hidden Ball Tricked Worked

Topics: Balk, Latest News, Pitcher, Runners, Umpire

The Carolina Mudcats  (Brewers) executed the hidden ball trick, one of baseball’s oldest ruses, when they  hosted the Buies Creek Astros  of the  Class A Advanced Carolina League on May 3. In the top of the seventh inning, the Astros, with runners on first and second, pulled off a successful double steal when the Mudcats’…

Expert Analysis

Double Switch Delirium Reds Send Wrong Players into the Field

Topics: Batting Out of Order, Latest News, Manager, Substitutions, Umpire, Uncategorized

Someone once said, “Patience is the mother of all virtues.” That certainly holds true in the baseball sense. Every major league and minor league manager and bench coach needs to show patience in certain situations to maximize the benefits of the rule book. As we saw last week, Reds’ interim manager Jim Riggleman showed his…

Expert Analysis

Lineup Snafu, Mets Bat Out of Order

Topics: Batting Out of Order, Expert Analysis, Latest News, Manager, Umpire

Confusion reigned in the first inning yesterday, May 9, 2018,  at Great American Ball Park, where the Mets batted out of order in their game against the Reds. Before we look at what happened, a fundamental point of the rule is, when a batter bats out of order and it’s appealed, the batter who failed to bat…

Expert Analysis

No Infield Fly Rule Call Results in Orioles Triple Play

Topics: Fielding, Infield Fly, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules

The Orioles pulled off a strange triple play at the expense of the Red Sox in Boston’s 5-2 win on May 2. With runners on first and second and no outs in the bottom of the eighth, Jackie Bradley Jr. skied a popup behind shortstop. O’s shortstop, J.J. Hardy, called off right fielder Joey Rickard before the ball fell between…

Expert Analysis

First Play or Second Play? Placing Runners is Tricky

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Latest News, Manager Ejection, Placing Runners, Placing Runners, Runners

According to rule 5.06 (G), when a wild throw by an infielder goes out of play or under a bench, the umpires must distinguish if it’s the “first play” or “second play” by the infielder. Remember, by rule, the fielding of a ground ball, line drive or fly ball is not the “first play.” What…

Expert Analysis

Did Pitcher Throw at Runner for Interference Call?

Topics: Baseline, Latest News, Runner Interference, Runners

The Reds and Indians played in Cleveland on May 23, 2017, when the Reds’ Zack Cozart was called for batter-runner interference. Cozart was clearly out of the runner’s box but did Indians’ pitcher Carlos Carrasco have a good throwing lane to first base? And even if he did, does it matter since Cozart was clearly…

Expert Analysis

Jason Heyward Called for Batter Runner Interference

Topics: Baseline, Batted Ball, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Runner Interference, Runners

Before we look at a couple of recent batter-runner interference plays, let’s review the provisions and “interpretations” that cover rule 5.09 (a) (11) and the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box that has been around since 1881. Keep in mind that the rule is designed to protect the fielder “taking” the throw, not “making” the…

Expert Analysis

Yankees’ Pitcher Charged for Type A Obstruction

Topics: Base Awards, Latest News, Obstruction, Pitcher, Runners

The Yankees and White Sox played on July 5, 2016, at U.S. Cellular Field. The Yanks had Brett Gardner on second base in the top of the ninth with no outs when Ronald Torreyes hit a high chopper toward first base. White Sox pitcher Michael Ynoa ran toward the ball to make a play but…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.