tzemaitis

Forum Replies Created

Viewing 15 replies - 16 through 30 (of 42 total)
  • Replies
  • tzemaitis
    Participant
    This would be a legal tag if the second baseman was able to maintain control of the ball to the point he can exhibit voluntary release.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    Never go past the middle of the catcher’s helmet as you will be exposed to a significantly higher number of foul balls…very dangerous.  In fact, moving over behind the catcher is not as preferred as trying to set up higher in your stance so you might be able to see.  At advanced levels, the umpire will also make mention to the batter that it’s difficult for us to see if he stands there.  By rule, you can’t ask him to move, but in casual conversation many batters will  move back and/or the catcher will also move a bit to give you a window.  Unfortunately, some times you will just get blocked out and you will have to work very hard to read the catcher receiving the ball to give you enough information to call ball/strikes.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    The OBR/NCAA runner, if he’s still in play and not in the dugout, must retouch home, third, second, and first before accepting his award to third base without touching a forward base first. If not, he would be subject to being called out on appeal.  For example, if an OBR/NCAA runner was between 2nd and 3rd when the ball went out of play, the runner could not continue forward touching third, and then begin his retreat to second and first…he must immediately retreat and touch second base and then first before advancing.  NFHS ruling is different on this play as the runner is only allowed to retreat to one base at all ..in this case, first base…to retouch legally.  Although a runner in NFHS could physically retouch all bases in your example before advancing on his award, he would be subject to be called out on appeal as he defined his base as home plate as soon as he re-touched it after the ball going out of play.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    As your post questions the application versus the spirit of the rule, you are correct.  As an umpire, it is your judgement whether the ball could be “caught with reasonable effort”.  Thus, you can cite conditions which may make it unreasonable to catch which often includes wind, sun position, etc. …and at lower levels, the age of the players.  We pregame these items on certain fields all the time to be patient on calling infield fly.  The players have a responsibility to continue to play, and the batter is typically safe at first if he runs after the ball is hit high enough to be an infield fly…especially if the fielders didn’t move into position to catch it in the air, it would take some time for them to pick it up off the ground from their standing positions.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    Generally regarded as the last 60 ft of ball flight.  Imagine in MLB an outfielder who can throw the ball 350 ft towards home…you wouldn’t start saying the catcher is protected when the fielder releases the ball that far away.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    The runner who got HBP and sprinted down to 1st is in a dead ball situation for the HBP.  The umpire should not put the ball back in play until after he’s re-touched first so it would be impossible to call him out over running 1st in this situation.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    NFHS 5-1-1-H  ball becomes immediately dead when: (h) the umpire handles a live ball…runners would be returned to the base last acquired at the time of touching

     

    OBR may be different.  Earlier versions of the rule book stated:

    OBR 5.12 (b) 5 : If the umpire wishes to inspect the ball, he shall call time.  If the umpire otherwise handles a live ball, but the umpire releases the ball immediately, the ball remains live; otherwise the ball is dead.

    However, the 2020 rule book states OBR 5.12 (b) 5: Calling “time” and dead balls – (5) when the umpire wishes to examine the ball, consult with either manager, or for any similar cause.

    I’m not sure when OBR changed the verbiage on this section of the book or for what reason. Since, it was changed, I would infer that MLB would want it to be a dead ball, but without a reference remaining in the book, we can’t be sure.

     

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    NFHS Rule 2 Section 32 Article 2 – A slide is illegal if:  (a) the runner uses a rolling, cross-body or pop-up slide into the fielder.

    Pop-up slides are never legal in high school although enforcement of an illegal slide is only in connection with contact or influence of a defender.  This does most often occur at second base in connection with a force play slide situation, however, it can happen at any base at any time where a play is being made.

    NFHS Rule 8 Section 4 Article 2 : Any runner is out when he: (b) does not legally slide and causes illegal contact and/or illegally alters the actions of a fielder in the immediate act of making a play, or on a force play, does not slide in a direct line between the bases.

    NFHS Rule 8 Section 4 Article 2 (b) (2): Runners are never required to slide, but if a runner elects to slide, the slide must be legal.

    The pop-up verbiage is not included in rule books for NCAA or OBR so this ruling is different at the high school level whose governing body puts a heightened emphasis on player safety.

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    The batter/runner is entitled to the entire base path and is permitted to retreat towards home, but not touch or go beyond (backwards).  Retreating beyond home would be considered running the bases backwards making a travesty of the game, and the batter would be called out. R1 is safe at first on this scenario.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    NFHS 10.2.3(g) case book play: With R2 on second, and R1 on first and no outs, B3 hits an infield fly, but the umpire fails to call “infield fly” Is the infield fly in effect or not?  RULING: Even though the infield fly rule was not announced by the umpire, it is still in effect.  Both teams have the responsibility to know when conditions exist for an infield fly.

     

    The Jaksa/Roder manual makes reference to the relevant high school rules, but does not delineate whether it is consistent or inconsistent with OBR.

    On page 231 (back of book) for the Jaksa/Roder manual reads “NFHS 10.2.3g – The situation, not the declaration of the umpire, determines whether the batter-runner is out on an infield fly. Thus, if all conditions are met for an infield fly but it is not declared, the batter-runner is still out, and the play (including all other outs gained) stands.

    On page 235, NCAA 2-48: The NCAA simply states that the ball is live during a declared or undeclared infield fly and the runners can advance at their own risk.

     

    Thus, you’ve discovered a fine point differential.  NFHS – it is an infield fly regardless  NCAA/OBR – it is a live ball played on unless a double play is obtained by the defense for failure to call a qualified infield fly in which case, the umpires would rectify the situation.

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    There is no reason to call the runner out for entering the dugout. He has passed all bases without being tagged or forced and is considered safe unless an appeal makes him out. Field management would allow you to signal safe for clarification once the runner has abandoned his effort to return by heading towards the dugout. Once the runner has entered the dugout, he is permanently removed from the play. He cannot re-enter the field for any purpose. Since he did, you would just exercise some patience for the shenanigans. When the defense tags the runner and looks for a call, you can state “runner has already entered the dugout and is not in play”.  If the manager wants to call time and discuss it with you, you call time and tell him the runner is not in play once he enters the dugout and cannot return. If he asks if the run scores, you simply reply yes. If he questions whether or not he missed the plate, you state simply “coach, that is a question you would have to ask on proper appeal”.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    This reply has been marked as private.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    The definition of terms on page 150 of the OBR – Interference (a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. 

    In this case, it can be adjudged that the fielder was not attempting to make a play so you would have nothing.  However, on your broadcasters rule challenge, this question was asked and the retired MLB umpire indicated that he called two friends in the majors today and they both indicated that they would most likely adjudge interference and call the runner out.

    tzemaitis
    Participant
    this is umpire judgement as to how unsportsmanlike the conduct is or if it just inappropriate grip on the bat.  If the bat doesn’t hit anybody then the batter is fine.  however, if the batter is following through and hits players in the dugout or the catcher, he should be warned and upon second violation, be ejected from the game.
    tzemaitis
    Participant
    OBR 6.02. (a) 7 – It is a balk when the pitcher makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch while he’s not touching the pitcher’s plate.

    Thus, it must be adjudged whether his throwing motion is “naturally associated with his pitch”.  This most commonly occurs with a suicide squeeze, and the pitcher steps off quickly and then throws home to retire the runner.  This is generally considered NOT a natural pitching motion as all parties involved are usually aware that it is an attempt to throw out the runner from third.  However, if the pitcher steps back, but then throws in a manner similar to his pitching motion, it could be called a balk.

Viewing 15 replies - 16 through 30 (of 42 total)

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.