Foul Territory Category Archive

Insider Report

Q&A: Foul ball or strike three?

Q. With two strikes on the batter, Wilmington Blue Rocks (High A Carolina League) catcher Chad Johnson recently had a foul tip go off his mask and into his mitt. The ball never hit the ground. Was this a legal catch for “strike three?” A. No. That would be a foul ball. For the catcher […]

Insider Report

Fielder Falls into Stands after Making Catch

I think most players know that if they make a catch while being airborne and fall into the stands, or any dead ball area, the catch is legal as long as the fielder can show the ball to the umpire. What many players don’t know is if there are less than two outs, runners on […]

Insider Report

Lodged Ball Creates Controversy

The Connecticut Tigers hosted the Vermont Lake Monsters on July 19, 2016 at Dodd Stadium in Norwich, Ct. The Tigers had Cesar Gonzalez on second and Cole Bauml on first with one out in the bottom of the ninth trailing, 3-1. Josh Lester then hit a ball down the left field line that went under […]

Insider Report

Protected Fielders and Batter Interference

Batter Interference Batters and runners need to understand when a fielder is “protected.” Simply stated, it means the batter or runner should “stay away” and “avoid” the fielder when he is making a play. This includes fly balls as well as ground balls. In general, I think runners are aware that they must avoid an […]

Insider Report

Spectator Interference

When spectator interference occurs, the umpires have the authority to place the batter and the runners at any base they judge would have been made had there been no interference. It’s possible that the umpires will award two bases to one runner while awarding only one base to another runner or the batter. The umpires […]