Expert Analysis

Advertisement
Expert Analysis

Umpire Got the Count Wrong, Now What?

Topics: Ball/Strike Count, Expert Analysis, Incorrect Ball/Strike Count, protest, Replay Review, Umpire, Umpire Manual Rules

The D’backs hosted the Dodgers on Sept. 10. In the top of the sixth inning, the Dodgers had Kike Hernandez on third and Austin Barnes on first with one out. Mookie Betts was at-bat with a 1-2 count. On the next pitch which was called a “Ball” by plate umpire Doug Eddings, the. Dodgers attempted…

Expert Analysis

Ball gets lodged in outfield wall. What happens now?

Topics: Base Awards, Dead Ball Area, Expert Analysis, Lodged Ball, Official Baseball Rules, Replay Review

Lodged Baseballs Per rule 5.05 (a) (7), a ball is considered lodged if, in the judgment of the umpire, the natural trajectory of the flight of the ball is interrupted long enough to affect further play. A batted ball that sticks in a fence, scoreboard, shrubbery or vines located on the playing field should be…

Expert Analysis

Runner Steals Home but it Hit by Pitch! Answer!

Topics: Base Awards, Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Video - Runner
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

A Bobble in Real Time is a Catch in Slo-Mo

Topics: Base Awards, Definitions, Expert Analysis, Manager Ejection, Rule changes 2019, Rules Controversy, Umpire Manual Rules, Uncategorized

What Happened? Rich Marazzi: The Marlins beat the Tigers 5-4 in 11 innings on Tuesday night. A costly overturn of a “no catch” on the field call could have contributed to the Tigers’ defeat. The Tigers were batting in the bottom of the ninth with runners on first and third and one out when Ronny…

Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference

Topics: Batted Ball, Batter, Batter's Box, Blog, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Dead Ball Area, Definitions, Equipment, Expert Analysis, Fair Territory, Fielding, Interference, Latest News, Manager, Obstruction, Official Baseball Rules, Rule of the Week, Rules Controversy, Umpire

On Sunday the Kansas City Royals and Houston Astros played at Minute Maid.  In the bottom of the second, Tony Kemp was batting with the bases loaded and one out when Kemp’s swing made contact with the mitt of Royals’ catcher Drew Butera.  Plate umpire Lance Barrett ruled the ball dead because it was a…

Expert Analysis

Yes! A Pitcher Can Win & Lose the Same Game

Topics: Expert Analysis, Substitutions, Suspended Game, Uncategorized

Suspended Game: Rule 7.02   The Yankees-Nationals game on May 15 was suspended after 5 1/2 innings and will resume on Monday June 18 in Washington in the bottom of the sixth with the score tied, 3-3. A variety of questions always accompanies suspended games. Here’s a few and how they will relate to the…

Expert Analysis

9 Rules Questions Answered Here

Topics: Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Expert Analysis, Home Plate Collision, Infield Fly, Interference, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Substitutions, Uncategorized

1. Infield Fly Rule situation. The bases are loaded and one out when the batter hits a pop fly near first base in fair territory. The umpires invoke the IFR. The runner on first base, who is several feet off the bag, is tracking the fly ball instead of locating the first baseman who is…

Expert Analysis

Best (Legal) Way to Break Up a Double Play

Topics: Baseline, Expert Analysis, Fielding, Interference, Latest News, Runner Interference, Runners

I have advocated in my spring training presentations that the pop-up slide is an excellent technique to help break up the double play at second base in a force situation. Because of the 2016 sliding regulations under rule 6.01 (j), runners obviously do not have the liberal opportunity they had in the past when breaking…

Expert Analysis

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

Topics: Balk, Batter, Catcher, Catcher Interference, Definitions, Expert Analysis, Home Plate Collision, Interference, Latest News, Obstruction, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Pitcher Pick-offs, Rules Controversy, Runner Interference, Runners, Substitutions

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt…

Expert Analysis

Lineup Snafu, Mets Bat Out of Order

Topics: Batting Out of Order, Expert Analysis, Latest News, Manager, Umpire

Confusion reigned in the first inning yesterday, May 9, 2018,  at Great American Ball Park, where the Mets batted out of order in their game against the Reds. Before we look at what happened, a fundamental point of the rule is, when a batter bats out of order and it’s appealed, the batter who failed to bat…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.