Expert Analysis

Advertisement
Expert Analysis

Faking a Throw to Third and Throwing to First Base

Topics: Balk, Expert Analysis, Rules Changes

One of the recent rules changes in the past decade is that pitchers are no longer allowed to fake a throw to third base, and then turn around and try to pick off a runner on first base. Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh breakdown these situations and explain this correct rule in…

Expert Analysis

The Rules after a Dropped Third Strike

Topics: Expert Analysis, Runners

What happens after a dropped third strike if the runner starts heading back to the dugout? How far can the batter go before he would be called out if one of his teammates tells him to start running toward first base? Where is the line of demarcation? Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh…

Expert Analysis

Detached Equipment Rule

Topics: Equipment, Expert Analysis, Interference
This is a video post.
Expert Analysis

How a Smart Manager Could Earn a Run by Understanding Catcher’s Interference

Topics: Batted Ball, Catcher Interference, Expert Analysis, Interference, Manager

What exactly is catcher’s interference? What happens after catcher’s interference occurs…..is that ball dead? What happen if the ball is put in play? What if there is a sacrifice fly? Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh define catcher’s interference and explain how a smart manager could earn an extra run if they understand…

Expert Analysis

Runner hit by batted ball…..is the runner always out?

Topics: Base Awards, Deflected Ball, Expert Analysis, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Runners

When a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is not always out. Umpires must assess the situation and apply the proper rule. The most common form of this violation is when a runner is struck by a batted ball in front an infielder and impedes him from making a play.  The runner is…

Expert Analysis

Failing to Return to First Base

Topics: Base, Base Awards, Expert Analysis, Rules Controversy

The Orioles and A’s played in Oakland on April 21. In the top of the fourth inning Trey Mancini reached first base on an error. Once he got beyond first base, he collected himself, and turning his body toward second base he made a hop step. Walking back to the bag along the first-base line,…

Expert Analysis

What happens if a player walks up to the batters box unannounced?

Topics: Batter's Box, Coach, Dugout, Expert Analysis, Manager, Official Baseball Rules, Official Scorer, Rules Controversy

We have all seen pinch hitters enter the game where the standard protocol is followed: the manager comes out of the dugout and points out to the umpire that he has a new hitter entering the game, and the umpire points to the press box officially entering the player into the game. What happens if…

Expert Analysis

Type 2 Obstruction – Here’s What You need to Know

Topics: Appeal, Base Awards, Batter Runner, Expert Analysis, Famous Plays, Fielding, Interference, Obstruction, Rules Controversy, Runners Lane

Type 2 Obstruction (Ball Remains in Play) Under Type 2 obstruction, there is no play being directly made on the obstructed runner at the time of the obstruction. The ball is normally a long distance from the act of obstruction.  The umpire signals the obstruction by pointing to the obstruction and yelling “That’s obstruction.” This…

Expert Analysis

When a Batter Attempts to Induce a Balk

Topics: Balk, Batter's Box, Expert Analysis

It doesn’t happen often in baseball, but there have been occurrences where a batter is trying to create a balk by stepping out of the batters box while the pitcher is throwing a pitch. Major League Umpire, Ted Barrett, and Chris Welsh discuss the correct ruling on this play in a simple and easy to…

Expert Analysis

Catcher’s Interference: A Potential Game-Changing Decision for a Manager

Topics: Appeal, Base, Base Awards, Baseline, Batter, Batter Interference, Catcher Interference, Coach, Expert Analysis, Interference, Manager, Official Baseball Rules, Placing Runners, protest, Quick Pitch, Rules Controversy, Umpire, Uncategorized

Perhaps the most impactful catcher’s interference call of the 2020 season occurred in the deciding game of the White Sox vs. A’s series in Oakland. With the score tied 4-4 in the bottom of the fifth, Tommy La Stella was batting for the A’s with Sean Murphy on first base and two outs when La…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.