batter-runner

Expert Analysis

Infield Throws and Pitched Balls That Deflect into Dead Ball Territory: Part II

Topics: Base Awards, Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Dugout, Placing Runners

In this Part II edition involving deflected balls, I’ll cover batted balls that deflect off infielders that go into dead ball territory and pitched balls that deflect off the catcher and go into dead ball territory. Unless noted, the Pro, NCAA and NFHS rule is the same. Ball Deflects Off Infielder and Lands in Dead…

Expert Analysis

Runner’s Lane Violations All Over MLB

Topics: Baseline, Batter Runner, Latest News, Runner Interference, Uncategorized

               Bellinger Called Out The Dodgers and Padres played in San Diego on Thursday night. Cody Bellinger led off the top of the fourth for the Dodgers in a scoreless game and hit a dribbler in front of the plate. The ball was fielded by catcher Austin Hedges who fired wide of first base and…

Expert Analysis

Batter Taps Rolling Ball with Bat Called Out

Topics: Baseline, Batted Ball, Batter, Batter Interference, Batter's Box, Fair Territory, Latest News

      Normally, when you think of batter-runner interference, you think of the batter-runner who runs out of the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box the last 45-feet and interferes with the fielder taking the throw. But batter-runner interference can occur long before the batter-runner reaches the box. Once the ball is batted into…

Expert Analysis

9 Rules Questions Answered Here

Topics: Catcher, Dead Ball Area, Expert Analysis, Home Plate Collision, Infield Fly, Interference, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Pitcher, Placing Runners, Runner Interference, Substitutions, Uncategorized

1. Infield Fly Rule situation. The bases are loaded and one out when the batter hits a pop fly near first base in fair territory. The umpires invoke the IFR. The runner on first base, who is several feet off the bag, is tracking the fly ball instead of locating the first baseman who is…

Expert Analysis

Did Pitcher Throw at Runner for Interference Call?

Topics: Baseline, Latest News, Runner Interference, Runners

The Reds and Indians played in Cleveland on May 23, 2017, when the Reds’ Zack Cozart was called for batter-runner interference. Cozart was clearly out of the runner’s box but did Indians’ pitcher Carlos Carrasco have a good throwing lane to first base? And even if he did, does it matter since Cozart was clearly…

Expert Analysis

Jason Heyward Called for Batter Runner Interference

Topics: Baseline, Batted Ball, Latest News, Official Baseball Rules, Runner Interference, Runners

Before we look at a couple of recent batter-runner interference plays, let’s review the provisions and “interpretations” that cover rule 5.09 (a) (11) and the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box that has been around since 1881. Keep in mind that the rule is designed to protect the fielder “taking” the throw, not “making” the…

Expert Analysis

Special Report: Time Play Rules Controversy 2017

Topics: Rules Controversy

The 2017 baseball season wasn’t quite two days old when we had our first “Time Play” confusion. When the third out of an inning is not the result of a force play and it happens about the same time a runner is crossing the plate, the plate umpire must decide “in time,” what occurred first-the…

  • 1
  • 2

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.