Cubs

Javier Baez Confuses Pirates When He Runs From 1B to Home

Rule 5.08 (a) says that no run can score when the batter-runner makes the third out before he touches first base, or if the inning ends in a force. The Pirates hosted the Cubs on Thursday afternoon. In the top of the third, Javier Baez was batting with Willson Contreras on second base and two…

That Time Jean Segura Stole 1B, Really!

Segura Almost Steals Second Base Twice in the Same Inning Before you read the report below, I would suggest you watch it first. After viewing the play, read the report and watch the video again. There’s much to digest here. The full MLB Youtube Video here: https://youtu.be/HZM1JcJwo9E The Play Can a runner steal the same…

Ball gets lodged in outfield wall. What happens now?

Lodged Baseballs Per rule 5.05 (a) (7), a ball is considered lodged if, in the judgment of the umpire, the natural trajectory of the flight of the ball is interrupted long enough to affect further play. A batted ball that sticks in a fence, scoreboard, shrubbery or vines located on the playing field should be…

Recent protest has many asking, “What is a protest?”

With last month’s Cubs-Nationals game ending in a protest from Joe Maddon, the topic of protesting in baseball came back to life. Although it is rare, with protests only being upheld 15 times in Major League Baseball history, it allows teams an avenue to enforce the Official Rules of Baseball at times when the umpires…

Texas Two-Step; Edwards told to change, Doolittle, too late

The ninth inning of the May 18 game between the Washington Nationals and the visiting Chicago Cubs began like any other late-inning, three-run game. Nationals closer Sean Doolittle toed the slab in a save situation and retired Albert Almora Jr. for the first out. The next pitch is where the controversy officially became a game…

Javier Baez – Sneaky Single or Out of Baseline?

The Cubs and Dodgers played at Wrigley on Tuesday, April 29, 2019, when an interesting “out of the baseline” controversy developed. In the bottom of the second, Javy Baez was batting with an 0-2 count and one out when he tapped a soft ground ball to Dodgers’ first baseman, David Freese. It looked like an…

11 Rules Questions that Need Answering Now

If a manager wants to challenge multiple situations in the same play, what is the proper way to have the field umpires communicate this to the Command Center?   The manager should tell the field umpires the situations he wants challenged. It should be done in layers at the same time. Does a tag attempt…

Rizzo’s Controversial Slide at Home

For the second consecutive year, the Cubs’ Anthony Rizzo was involved in a controversial slide at the plate. Following is the report from MLB.com. In the eighth inning of the Cubs’ 7-0 win over the Pirates on Monday afternoon at PNC Park, a replay-review ruling on Anthony Rizzo’s hard slide into catcher Elias Diaz stood, resulting in…

Jason Heyward Called for Batter Runner Interference

Before we look at a couple of recent batter-runner interference plays, let’s review the provisions and “interpretations” that cover rule 5.09 (a) (11) and the 45-foot long, 3-foot wide runner’s box that has been around since 1881. Keep in mind that the rule is designed to protect the fielder “taking” the throw, not “making” the…

Batter Offers at Pitch and is Touched by Ball

This much we know: When a batter attempts to hit a pitch, whether a full swing, check swing or bunt attempt, it is a strike. But what happens when that batter attempts to hit or bunt the pitch and is then struck by the pitch? Is the batter awarded first base? Can runners advance? Can…

Don't strike out!

Become a part of the largest baseball rules community in the world!

Get free access to baseball forums, rules analysis and exclusive email content from current and former Major League Baseball players and umpires.