Interference Category Archive

Blog

MLB Postseason Riddled with Rules Controversies

Why Didn’t Dusty Baker Protest Follow-Through Interference? Did Yankees Gary Sanchez Violate a Rule on the Final Out of the Game? Was that Interference on Carlos Correa that Allowed the Winning Run to Score?   Expert Rules Analysis Here CONTROVERSY #1 In the most important game played by the Nationals all year long could the […]

Insider Report

Runner Continues to Run after Being Called Out

The following play occurred recently in the Class A California League between the Modesto Nuts and the Rancho Cucamonga Quakes. With the bases loaded and one out, the Quakes’ batter hit a ground ball over the third base bag that was fielded by the third baseman who stepped on third and threw in the dirt […]

Blog

Bat Boy or Ball Boy Interference

Baseball games feature batboys and batgirls at all levels. Occasionally they get involved in a play and disrupt the natural course of the game. It most often occurs when a ball is hit down the baseline (fair) and the ball boy stationed in foul territory, is struck by the ball. We have all seen plays […]

Insider Report

Bat Boy, Ball Boy Interference

When a bat boy or ball boy interferes with a play, interference is only called if the interference is intentional. Because the bat boy is authorized to be on the playing field, as long as he or any authorized on field personnel attempts to avoid a fielder, there should be no call because interference in […]

Blog

Special Update: Red Sox Protest Denied!

MLB has rejected the Red Sox protest of the July 15 game against the Yankees. ICYMI: Review of the play To briefly review the situation (in case you missed it, see yesterday’s post, “Red Sox-Yankees Rivalry Plays Out Again”): In the top of the 11th inning the Yankees had Matt Holliday at first base and […]

Insider Report

Holliday Interference?

Red Sox manager John Farrell protested the Red Sox 16-inning, 4-1 loss to the Yankees on Saturday, July 15, 2017, at Fenway Park. Here is what happened. In the top of the 11th inning, the Yankees had Matt Holliday at first base and no outs when Jacoby Ellsbury chopped a ball to first baseman Mitch Moreland, who […]

Blog

Bat Interference

It is common to see a batter drop his bat in fair territory in the area in front of home plate. Usually this results in no further complication of the play. But when the dropped bat touches a batted ball, every umpire, coach and player should know the rule. Live batted ball A batter is […]

Blog

Rule of the Week: Follow Through Interference

Pro rules have nary a reference to follow through interference. Instead, it is referred to as “back swing” interference. The golfing world knows the difference. Follow through vs. back swing The follow through is the continuing movement of the bat after the ball is struck or missed – the completion of the swinging motion. The […]

Official Rules of NCAA-Level Baseball

NCAA 7-4h

A strike is awarded if the batter attempts to create catcher’s interference. He is out if the interference is deliberate, immediate dead ball, base runners return to base occupied at TOP. [OBR Interpretation: If this occurs, the ball is dead and no runners can advance. If the swing hits the catcher, the batter is ejected […]