Insider Report(view all)

Batter-Catcher Interference

Batter Interference Whenever the batter interferes following a strikeout and the catcher is attempting to make a play on a runner, the runner being played on is called out as well. Plate umpire Jim Wolff called Ben Zobrist out for batter interference in the top of the first inning of Game Four of the 2015 WS when he hindered Mets catcher Travis d’Arnaud from throwing to second base after striking out. Since the interference occurred…

Batter Interference Whenever the batter interferes following a strikeout and the catcher is attempting to make a play on a runner, the runner being played on is called out as well. Plate umpire Jim Wolff called Ben Zobrist out for batter interference in the top of the first inning of Game Four of the 2015 WS when he hindered Mets catcher Travis d’Arnaud from throwing to second base after striking out. Since the interference occurred…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...the run would score since the inning did not end in a force play or the batter-runner making the third out before reaching first base.

 

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply