Insider Report(view all)

Batter Interferes with Catcher on Backswing

The Red Sox and Rays played at Tropicana Field on August 23, 2016. David Ortiz was batting in the top of the eighth inning with one out and Xander Bogaerts on first base. With Bogaerts attempting to steal second, Ortiz swung and missed a 2-2 Brad Boxberger pitch. Ortiz’ bat came around and struck catcher Bobby Wilson in the helmet on his backswing. Plate umpire Ron Kulpa properly called Ortiz out on “strike three” but…

The Red Sox and Rays played at Tropicana Field on August 23, 2016. David Ortiz was batting in the top of the eighth inning with one out and Xander Bogaerts on first base. With Bogaerts attempting to steal second, Ortiz swung and missed a 2-2 Brad Boxberger pitch. Ortiz’ bat came around and struck catcher Bobby Wilson in the helmet on his backswing. Plate umpire Ron Kulpa properly called Ortiz out on “strike three” but…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...for the future.

If you’re scoring, credit Wilson with two putouts. If he threw down to second base, whoever is covering the base gets a putout.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply