Insider Report(view all)

Catcher Interference

In the top of the first inning, the Royals’ Whit Merrifield attempted to steal second base with Lorenzo Cain at bat. At almost the time of pitcher Josh Tomlin’s release, Indians’ catcher Chris Gimenez jumped up, took off his mask, and stepped on the plate to receive the throw. Gimenez caught the pitch standing on the plate and threw to second, but Whit was safe. Plate umpire Sam Holbrook made no interference call on Gimenez…

In the top of the first inning, the Royals’ Whit Merrifield attempted to steal second base with Lorenzo Cain at bat. At almost the time of pitcher Josh Tomlin’s release, Indians’ catcher Chris Gimenez jumped up, took off his mask, and stepped on the plate to receive the throw. Gimenez caught the pitch standing on the plate and threw to second, but Whit was safe. Plate umpire Sam Holbrook made no interference call on Gimenez…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...World Series on display in the in the Yogi Berra Museum.

But a close examination of this play might reveal that Berra was guilty of interference…

 

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

1 reply

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply