Insider Report(view all)

When Must the Batter Leave the Batter’s box?

Once a batter puts a pitch in play, he is no longer considered a batter; he is a runner. He has no right to linger around the batter’s box. But what about his rights to stay in the box on a wild pitch or passed ball? What if he misses the pitch on a suicide squeeze?  Here are some things to keep in mind about plays involving the catcher where the batter is involved. On…

Once a batter puts a pitch in play, he is no longer considered a batter; he is a runner. He has no right to linger around the batter’s box. But what about his rights to stay in the box on a wild pitch or passed ball? What if he misses the pitch on a suicide squeeze?  Here are some things to keep in mind about plays involving the catcher where the batter is involved. On…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...right to be where they are. The batter has the right to run to first and the catcher has the right to field the ball.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

1 reply
  1. Ragner23
    Ragner23 says:

    Here is a rather unique play that happened today that began with a passed ball. The batter was clueless as the runner advanced from third base to home. The catcher went to the back stop and threw the ball to the pitcher covering the plate
    The ball hit the batter in the back. The batter was in the rear of the batter’s box at that time with his back to the catcher. The runner was going to be safe regardless of the play at the plate. However, while the batter failed to vacate the box his interference was with a thrown ball which must be intentional. The rule on vacating the box is “Before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out.”
    -Is the batter automatically out for “hindering” a fielder though he actully was hit by a thrown ball?
    -Does it matter that it was a thrown ball?
    -Or that the runner would have been safe despite the interference?

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply