Insider Report(view all)

Time Plays

Rule 5.08 (a) covers a “Time Play,” which is umpire lingo. The term “Time Play” is not found in the rule book. Generally speaking, when a third out occurs just before or just after a runner crosses the plate and the third out is not the result of a force out or the batter-runner being retired before reaching first base, you have a “Time Play.” If the runner who is advancing home crosses the plate before…

Rule 5.08 (a) covers a “Time Play,” which is umpire lingo. The term “Time Play” is not found in the rule book. Generally speaking, when a third out occurs just before or just after a runner crosses the plate and the third out is not the result of a force out or the batter-runner being retired before reaching first base, you have a “Time Play.” If the runner who is advancing home crosses the plate before…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...runner that was tagged was “forced” to go to second on the play. Because the inning ended in a force out, no run can score.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply