Insider Report(view all)

Umpire Hit by Batted Ball

The Angels hosted the A’s on April 21. In the bottom of the sixth, the Angels had Johnny Giavotella on first base when Kole Calhoun hit a shot that hit second base Mike Winters who was positioned on the infield side of second base. This was a classic umpire interference violation. “Time” was called and Giavotella was sent to second base. In such situations, runners advance only if forced. If Giavotella was on second or…

The Angels hosted the A’s on April 21. In the bottom of the sixth, the Angels had Johnny Giavotella on first base when Kole Calhoun hit a shot that hit second base Mike Winters who was positioned on the infield side of second base. This was a classic umpire interference violation. “Time” was called and Giavotella was sent to second base. In such situations, runners advance only if forced. If Giavotella was on second or…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...was covering first base. But there is no such thing as umpire obstruction. In most cases the umpire is treated as part of the ground.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply