Insider Report(view all)

Umpire Interference

There are two types of umpire interference: (1) When a field umpire (the second base umpire) is positioned in front of the infielders and is struck by a batted ball that is not deflected off another fielder, and (2) when the plate umpire interferes with the catcher’s throw in an attempt to retire a runner. In the case of field umpire interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base and all other…

There are two types of umpire interference: (1) When a field umpire (the second base umpire) is positioned in front of the infielders and is struck by a batted ball that is not deflected off another fielder, and (2) when the plate umpire interferes with the catcher’s throw in an attempt to retire a runner. In the case of field umpire interference, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base and all other…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...on a base umpire, the batter gets credit for a base hit.

Can you imagine a pitcher losing a no-hitter because of an umpire interference call?

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply