Insider Report(view all)

When Not to Argue Fan Interference

In the April 16 Royals/Twins game at Target Field, Kennys Vargas singled to the right fielder corner in the bottom of the seventh inning when a fan promptly picked up the ball. Umpire Joe West signaled fan interference. The umpires ruled that Vargas would have only made one base had there been no interference so he was only given first base. The reason for the one base award was most likely because right fielder Jarrod…

In the April 16 Royals/Twins game at Target Field, Kennys Vargas singled to the right fielder corner in the bottom of the seventh inning when a fan promptly picked up the ball. Umpire Joe West signaled fan interference. The umpires ruled that Vargas would have only made one base had there been no interference so he was only given first base. The reason for the one base award was most likely because right fielder Jarrod…

The rest of this Insider Report is unavailable and locked for non-members.

...he felt that it was obvious that his runner would have scored from third had there been no fan interference and the ball was caught.

Coming soon: We're working to bring you related content across this site.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply